Anti-Phishing Working Group
   
 
 


Home

Phishing Archive

Report Phishing

Events

APWG News

Resources

Membership

APWG Member Site

Contact Us

APWG Sponsors:

AOL - "AOL Billing Center"
10-Mar-2004

Summary
Email title: na (Note - this phish reported via website discovery by Internet Identity)
Scam target: AOL customers
Email format: na
Sender:

na

Sender spoofed? na
Scam call to action: "Please follow these 4 quick steps to validate your information, then click "Submit Information""
Scam goal: Getting victim's identity, credit card, ATM pin, and AOL account information
Call to action format: Web form
Visible link: http://www.aol-billing.net
Website: http://www.aol-billing.net - still active as of 14-Mar-04
 
E-mail
  • This phishing attack was not identified via an email attack
  • It was identified as the result of scanning for trademark-infringing website and domain names
 
Web Site
Visible link: http://www.aol-billing.net
Resolved URL:

http://www.aol-billing.net - still active as of 14-Mar-04

Webform data sent to: http://www.alia.org.au/cgi-bin/mail.pl
  • Very professional site - it opens with a security statement popup
  • The web form used to capture identity, credit card, and account information is very professional, providing the kind of detail that one would normally expect from AOL
  • Once information is submitted, it is sent to http://www.alia.org.au/cgi-bin/mail.pl. This site is owned by the Australian Library Information Association, and returns an error message saying use of this script is not permitted from an external site
  • Note that there is phishing attack against eBay that uses the identical web form, branded with eBay rather than AOL - check it out
 
 

 

Visible link: http://www.aol-billing.net
Resolved URL:

http://www.aol-billing.net - still active as of 14-Mar-04

DNS Lookup:
aol-billing.net ALL record
Domain
Type
Class
TTL
Answer
aol-billing.net NS IN 172800 yns1.yahoo.com
aol-billing.net NS IN 172800 yns2.yahoo.com
WHOIS info:
aol-billing.net

AOL-BILLING.NET

Server Type:
Website Status: Active
Reverse IP: Web server hosts 66142 websites (reverse ip tool requires free login)
IP Address: 66.218.79.170 (ARIN & RIPE IP search)
IP Location: United States - California - Sunnyvale - Yahoo!
Record Type: Domain Name
Monitor: Monitor or Backorder
Wildcard search: 'aol-billing' or 'aol billing' in all domains.
Other TLDs: .com .net .org .info .biz .us X X X X X X
Name Server: YNS1.YAHOO.COM YNS2.YAHOO.COM
ICANN Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Created: 16-sep-2003
Expires: 16-sep-2004
Status: ACTIVE

Domain Name.......... aol-billing.net
Creation Date........ 2003-09-16
Registration Date.... 2003-09-16
Expiry Date.......... 2004-09-16
Organisation Name.... Colleen Perkins
Organisation Address. 1801 beach street
Organisation Address. centralia
Organisation Address. 98531
Organisation Address. WA
Organisation Address. UNITED STATES
Admin Email.......... zum@zum-cs.net

Tech Name............ YahooDomains TechContact
Tech Address......... 701 First Ave.
Tech Address.........
Tech Address......... Sunnyvale
Tech Address......... 94089
Tech Address......... CA
Tech Address......... UNITED STATES
Tech Email........... domain.tech@YAHOO-INC.COM
Tech Phone........... +1.6198813096
Tech Fax............. +1.6198813010
Name Server.......... yns1.yahoo.com
Name Server.......... yns2.yahoo.com

WHOIS info:
zum-cs.net
ZUM-CS.NET

Website Status: not active
Record Type: Domain Name
Monitor: Monitor or Backorder
Wildcard search: 'zum-cs' in all domains.
Other TLDs: .com .net .org .info .biz .us X [5 available domains]
Name Server: DNS9.REGISTER.COM DNS10.REGISTER.COM
ICANN Registrar: REGISTER.COM, INC.
Created: 10-sep-2003
Expires: 10-sep-2005
Status: REGISTRAR-HOLD
WHOIS results for alia.org.au Domain Name: alia.org.au
Last Modified: 14-Aug-2002 02:13:33
UTC Registrar ID: R00013-AR
Registrar Name: Enetica
Status: ok

Registrant: Australian Library Information Association
Registrant ID: OTHER N/A
 
 

About Us | Contact Us