Anti-Phishing Working Group
   
 
 


Home

Phishing Archive

Report Phishing

Events

Resources

Membership

APWG Worksite

Contact Us

APWG Sponsors:



 

 

Fleet - 'Online banking - protect yourself from internet fraud'
15-Jun-2004

Summary
Email title: Online banking - protect yourself from internet fraud
Scam target: Fleet bank customers
Email format: HTML email
Sender:

servicebluefish@fleet.com

Sender spoofed? Yes
Scam call to action:

'As part of our ongoing commitment to protect your account and to reduce the instance of fraud on our website, we have introduced a new special FraudAction Detection Program...We have already enrolled your account in this Program. Membership is free, however, in order to authenticate your enrollment please confirm your account details below...'

Scam goal: Getting victim's Fleet credit card number/ATM
Call to action format: a 'Click here' type link
Visible link:

'FraudAction Detection Program' in the email, 'http://fleethomelink.fleet.com' in the status bar when mouse cursor moves over the link.

Called link: http://fleethomelink.fleet.com%1@202.96.108.138/www/fl/verify.html
Phish site:

202.96.108.138/www/fl/verify.html

 
E-mail
This email has a nice Fleet logo, quite nice sender, and a clever link. There is a script in the HTML code of the message, that hides the phishy URL from appearing in the status bar. The script replaces it with the URL of legitimate Fleet homepage.

Web Site
Visible link:

'FraudAction Detection Program' in the email, 'http://fleethomelink.fleet.com' in the status bar when mouse cursor moves over the link.

Called link: http://fleethomelink.fleet.com%1@202.96.108.138/www/fl/verify.html
Phish site:

202.96.108.138/www/fl/verify.html


The phish site is designed using the style and resources of Fleet bank's legitimate site. This page is well designed, and could easily trick the common user.

The URL in the address bar is also to be noted :


If you haven't updated your browser - do so. Otherwise you will not see the part of the URL that is in the red square. And this could very much leave you to the scammer's mercy.

However, the phish does not check the validity of the information you enter. Eventually, after the 'OK' button is pushed, the following page opens:


This exit screen's function is to further 'throw some dust in your eyes', trying to make you unsuspicious.

WHOIS (hosting server) Data:

inetnum: 202.96.108.0 - 202.96.108.255
netname: CHINANET-ZJ-JH
descr: CHINANET-ZJ Jinhua node network
descr: Zhejiang Telecom
country: CN
admin-c: CZ4-AP
tech-c: CJ54-AP
status: ALLOCATED NON-PORTABLE
mnt-by: MAINT-CHINANET-ZJ
mnt-lower: MAINT-CN-CHINANET-ZJ-JH
changed: master@dcb.hz.zj.cn 20031205
source: APNIC

 

About Us | Contact Us